Exploring New York City: Brooklyn Botanic Gardens

In my quest to explore my own city, the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens was a must. It’s been on my list for awhile because I rarely get out of Manhattan (so bad I know!).

So when I found that my job would have me right nearby one day, I had to get there early to explore the Gardens.

Coming from midtown east in Manhattan, I got to the Gardens by the taking the 4/5 express train to Franklin Ave and walking about 6 minutes. You can also take the 2/3 train to Eastern Parkway/Brooklyn Museum which is about a 3 minute walk from the entrance.

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived that the Gardens were free on Tuesdays. Normal admission is $12 for adults, $6 for seniors and students and free for kids under 12 with hours of 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. It is closed on Mondays. I spent about 40 minutes walking around the Gardens. They’re huge and there’s lots to see. It was a great way to spend a morning, even in the debilitating New York City humidity!

Here are a few photos of what you’ll find at the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens!

IMG_3088IMG_3086WELV9027IMG_3081IMG_3078NVWM5951IMG_3065IMG_3068IMG_3069IMG_3070IMG_3071IMG_3075IMG_3064IMG_3062IMG_3054

Oh and one photo of my outfit…cause I loved it!

IMG_3048

Leave a Reply

