‘What Would You Do If You Weren’t Afraid?’

“What would you do if you weren’t afraid?”

That is the question that started the wild and crazy journey I’m about to embark on.

I have officially left my job as a social media coordinator ABC News and am currently working on packing a backpack for a three month trip around Europe.

The story really began in January. I was starting to feel unsure about where my career was going. There was no clear next step, no obvious next project to begin.

It was around that time that my friend Chelsea announced that she was going to backpack around Europe for the summer. It was something I desperately wanted to do after graduating from college in 2012 but I got my fantastic job that I could not pass up.

I went back and forth for months with Chelsea trying to decide if I would be going with her or not. I had an apartment, friends, family near by, an amazing job, heck, a weekly paycheck! How could I give up that stability at 24-years-old?

Then came the question.

To begin all of our weekly team meetings at work, my boss would ask the room a simple icebreaker question. Favorite film, favorite ice cream, favorite vacation you took. But one day, he started the meeting with something a little deeper.

“What would you do if you weren’t afraid?”

Every single person in the room replied, “Quit my job and travel.”

That night I went home and gave Chelsea my final answer. I was coming with her.

Now, here we are. It’s about two months later and we are just four days away from our flights to Dublin. Friends have told me I’m crazy, stupid, an idiot. Adults (because I’m not one of those quite yet!) have told me to just go and don’t look back.

Nervous, excited, lonely, terrified. I am feeling every emotion possible.

But if not now, when, right? Man, I hate that cliche but it’s the only way to describe this adventure we’re about to take.

So have an amazing summer America. We’ll see ya in August.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I would answer the same. It’s so real how money and security are the reasons we are afraid to live life to the fullest. Hats off to you!

    1. Thanks Jeyna! It’s definitely a little scary but I’m hoping it will become the experience of a lifetime.

  2. Ashley says:

    My brother and I the same thing and people said the same things to us. It was the BEST thing I’ve ever done. Spend all of your money. You won’t ever regret it! (Just avoid Ryan Air at all costs!!)

    1. Ahh Ashley don’t tell me that! We have a flight on RyanAir to London. Yikes! But glad to hear you did the same thing and loved it. I know it will be a life changing experience.

      1. Ashley says:

        Haha we survived, they just have a lot of hidden fees and rules that were ridiculous! We ended up using a company called Busabout for most of the trip and it was great, if you don’t have your whole trip planned out yet check them out. I’m so envious of you right now!

Leave a Reply

